World Heritage

Natural World Heritage sites include iconic places such as the Great Barrier Reef, Yellowstone, the Galápagos Islands and Kilimanjaro, and are recognised as the world's most significant protected areas.


In the spotlight

Lut Desert, IranLatest facts and figures on natural World Heritage

There are 238 natural World Heritage sites, including 35 classified as mixed - both natural and cultural - and 203 classified as natural. Together they cover 286 million hectares.

Discover more

Latest news

Last updated - Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Go to top